Innovation and Unlearning

I really feel as if I have been an innovated learning during this semester, with this class especially.  This class has pushed me out of my cozy little box of reading a chapter and completed the corresponding assignments.  Innovation is defined as creative thinking and introducing new ideas and concepts and I feel as if (even if forcefully), I am there.  Being an innovated learner and unlearning goes hand in hand.  In order to be open to new ideas you must be willing to let go of your previous notions about that topic (unlearning).

Unlearning for me this semester happened when I was introduced to a new class that had a different and interesting method.  I was so used to reading part of my textbook and completing assignments, taking multiple choice, short answer and essay question exams.  I never thought that communicating with my peers and classmates would have such a profound effect on the way I’d learn.  There were so many parts of Richardson’s blog (The Unlearning Curve) that I could relate to:

We (teachers, and parents in my case) are not the sole experts. Our children and students can and should learn from others.

We do not know more than our kids.  Wow, this is definitely something that I need to work on at home.  There is SO much that my kids are learning in school, topics that are long forgotten by us adults by now, and yes, they probably know a lot more about certain topics than I do.  And that’s great.

Learning is not an event, but a continuous process.  We’re all learning, all the time.

We’re all learning- teachers, students, parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, etc.  All of us are learning all the time.  It’s a matter of how much we want to learn is what we’re in control of.  I know that I don’t want to be stuck in the “old ways” when my kids are learning and moving far beyond that.  I absolute LOVED Couros’ blog about innovated learning and his statement about it.  A few key points he made as to how to be an innovated learning/teacher:

Utilize tools available, whether it be new technology or the information that our own students and kids have

We must be willing to embrace new learning

Challenging ideas is a must

Take risks

Learn from others

Share information

Learn from a different perspective

Reflect on yourself

And my very favorite -Get rid of the notion that “this is the way we’ve always done it.”  As I read this statement I remembered a story that my husband told me, so I asked him to share.  If we never question anything we will be stuck in the same cycle of doing the same thing over and over and over.

Leave a Reply

