ILP Reflection

When we were first presented with the task of choosing a topic for our independent learning project, I was a little intimidated and lost.  I don’t consider myself to be very creative at all, and I have a hard time completing assignments that require thinking outside the box or assignments that are so vague with little direction.  I understand the reasoning behind such tasks; to force us to be creative and to develop higher level thinking skills, but I still struggle with it.

I threw around so many ideas for this project; cake decorating, cooking, baking, crocheting, etc.  I ultimately chose the topic of photography because I felt like that’s something that I wanted to dedicate more time to, but for various reasons could never find the time to do so.  I guess I liked the idea of choosing photography because this class would give me a reason to do it- instead of always having something more important to do, photography was able to make it to the top of my priority list because it was now required as part of one of my classes.

I learned a lot with this independent learning project.  Mostly I feel that I learned to experiment more, to go outside of my comfort zone of using my camera only in auto mode and relying on it to take great pictures.  I learned that there’s so much more I can do with my camera to take great pictures.  I learned about shutter speed, and aperture and how adjusting them makes all the difference in the world.  I learned that the lighting inside my house greatly affects the colors of my pictures.  My favorite thing that I learned was about the golden hour and my favorite pictures from this project are the ones I took of my kids during the golden hour.

img_1975

I’ve also learned that it’s ok to fail.  I had so many opportunities for great pictures, but in the end they didn’t turn out how I wanted- specifically some of my boys playing football.  Some were blurry, and in others my boys were not visible because the shutter speed wasn’t fast enough.  But it’s ok.  I learned how to fix those issues and I will continue to learn how to take better pictures.  And some day, if I can talk my husband into it, I’ll be able to buy myself a better camera and be able to devote more time to something that I enjoy doing.  Until then, I plan to continue to learn and practice and make the best out of what I have.

Leave a Reply

